Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sheilanew_gw

Just got Venus Fly trap for my kids..

sheilanew
17 years ago

Hi there just got a Venus Fly Trap for my kids (in Kindergarten) besides keeping the soil wet, What else can we do for it. I read about actually giving it bugs (1/3 size of the trap) but can I transplant it into a larger pot to help it grow larger or to maturity?

Total newbie here with only a few house plants (most alive to date). My kids love the Venus fly trap, what tips do you have for keeping it healthy. How long do they live and do I really have to give it flys etc? ( I did learn to not let them (kids) make it close for no reason without food ie: bug or fly etc)

We live just north of Toronto in Ontario Canada. It is currently June and I have in the house by a large window facing west (really hot and humid these days) It is in a tinly pot (really small I have it sitting in a container that I might only fit a large egg into).

Thanks

Sheila and her girly girls ( 5 and 6.5 yrs old)

Comments (15)

• xymox
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Sheila :)

glad you bought a venus' flytrap.

these magnificent plants are truly easy to grow if kept in its right conditions.

since you bearly got your kids a venus' flytrap. it's easier to acclimate it to its new surroundings first before introducing it to full sunlight. your windowsill where you are keeping it now is fine. if the plant shows sign of recovering(new leaves and traps growing from the center) you may introduce your plant outdoors. These plants love hot and humid days during the summers & during the growing season(late february through late october)

Venus' flytraps love their soil/media moist at all times during the growing season(febraury-october) they benefit from the humidity and temps that it keeps in the soil. this also helps maintain the soil acidic. these are bog plants.