Return to the Carnivorous Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I don't think my venus fly trap is a venus fly trap

Posted by baigers none (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 1, 13 at 6:29

Hi,

I'm just new to this and was given a "venus fly trap" to grow in one of those cheap gift sets.
Now I've put it all together and these bad boys have been growing for probably over a month. I can't see any sign of a carnivorous head on it and also it looks about as far away from a venus when I compare it to any videos or pics online.

Can anyone let me know if it is one, alternatively can you tell me if, like I think, it isn't?

Thanks,
Baigers

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I don't think my venus fly trap is a venus fly trap

No, it's NOT a Venus flytrap. Not sure what it is but it's not a Flytrap that's for sure.

o

I have been growing the exact same plant for over 4 months waiting to see a fly trap develop. Like you I'm also new to them and found this forum when I started to question the plants true identity.

Did you have any luck finding out what plant it is? Mine looks exactly the same as yours, even only got 3 plants from the seven seeds. Pot looks the same to. I'm guessing someone is selling these dodgy venus fly traps worldwide.
Bit of a shame really as I was getting a little enjoyment out of it. Be nice to at least know what I'm growing now.

Nige

o

Here's a picture of the kit I bought, was yours the same

o

Flytraps make traps literally within a week or 2 of sprouting. They are MINI but functional. FYI.

o