Return to the Carnivorous Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pitchers falling over - a problem?

Posted by satarina 6 (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 4, 06 at 13:09

Hello everyone, this is my first time on this forum, and I have a question. I recently picked up a yellow pitcher plant at a local nursery. It's been doing really well in a container on my front porch, with every pitcher full of insects. But over the last month we've had some really bad thunderstorms, and everytime it storms, I go outside to find the pitchers on my plant bent and falling over. I've tried propping them, and even lightly tying them to small stakes, but it keeps happening. This is with the very large, established pitchers, as well as the new tiny ones. Is this something to be concerned about, and if so, any suggestions to keep it from happening? The only thing I can think of is to replant it deeper. Thanks in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pitchers falling over - a problem?

Strong winds will easily knock over tall upright Sarracenia pitchers. The occassional storm is probably not that much of a concern with regard to the plant's health. However, fallen pithers usually have some damage to the lower part of the pitcher that makes them less stable so once the pitcher has been knocked over it's hard to encourage it to stand on its own accord.

Moving it to an area protected from wind will help prevent the problem, as will moving the plant to a more protected spot/indoors when strong winds are expected. Alternatively, tying the pitchers in a bundle with string and attaching it to a stake will work (although not always aesthetically pleasing).

S.flava sends up most of it's good pitchers early in the season so your plant may look a bit battered for the rest of the season. At least next year you'll be more prepared to take action.

Good luck
Andrew

o