Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
floral_mystique

overcrowding in the sundew pots

floral_mystique
17 years ago

HEllo,

My Names Matteo, I purchased 4 drosera Capensis and 3 Drosera Binata about a month ago, and now they are growing in my terrerium, the problem is that I left the Nursery with only two pots in hand and 7 plants in total. The pots are about three inches wide and three inches tall, I want to individually pot up my sundews, but I'm not sure when the right time to do this would be. California Carnivores told me that D. Binata requires a winter dormancy with reduced photoperiod, so I'm assuming late winter would be good time to transplant them, but since D. Capensis never seems to go dormant when would be the best time to do this?

thank you for any help that can be offered.

~Matteo a.k.a. the Floral Mystique

Comments (6)

• ilbasso_74
    17 years ago

I have no experience with the Binatas, but my Capensis collection is also getting out of control. I have purchased three of them and now have a total of 7 with a tiny baby plant just emerging today. I don't think that it really matters for them. I do know that they have VERY long roots and I can't imagine a little pot is very comfortable for them. I need to repot soon to eliminate crowding in the one container and figured that I'd just do it when a good container became available.

My Sarrs have had chipmunks digging in their pots so much that some have require repotting a few times this spring. Most seem ok.

• petiolaris
    17 years ago