Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yng_grdnr

pitcher plant problem?

yng_grdnr
17 years ago

hello all. I'm pretty new to the world of carnivorous plants. I had some VFT's growing up, but would rather see the traps close than actually take care of it. Anyway, I was at work (The Lovely Home Depot) and a co-worker and I found a pitcher plant. the card said it was a Sarracenia purpurea "scarlet belle", but while researching this species,it says it's the hardiest of them all. but the card said that it's tropical, having to stay about 65 degrees F. Could it be a Nepenthes? Is the card wrong? Also, the weather's been rainy, damp, and a little chilly. The plant has a few pitchers, 2 of which are turning brown and icky. is that from the weather or something else? Any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks!

~Jay :o)

P.S., I would post a picture, but I don't know how. if anyone can help me with that I will post one for all to see. thanks again!

Comments (17)

• xymox
    17 years ago

it's easier if you took a picture of the plant. you can upload pictures in this website:

www.photobucket.com

after uploading your pictures, each picture will have 3 different bars. copy the bar where it says "tag" then paste the code here in the comment boxes to generate the pictures.

• sarraceniahunter
    17 years ago

I've come to find that the people that ship plants to stores like the Home Depot seem to just throw them in a container and ship them out! I bought a combo terrarium the other day at Lowe's that was packaged as a VFT, Sarracenia purpurea, and Drosera imtermedia. What was actually in there was VFT, Sarracenia rubra, and a Lance Leaf sundew. The VFT and pitcher plant are compatable but the sundew is a tropical. If you can, try to describe your plant to us with as much detail as you can. Nepenthes and Sarracenia look very different!

Here is a link that might be useful: Backyard bogs (The Natural Alternative)

• yng_grdnr
    Original Author
    17 years ago