Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
echinocactus04

The Infamous Cube....

echinocactus04
16 years ago

Good evening to all,

It seems that more gift plants have made their way into my home. I'm referring to the Lowe's 3 in 1 cube that I saw mentioned earlier. Although I love them dearly, I'm concerned of their health because they are growing rapidly, and I'm already having trouble putting the top back on because the plants are in the way. It also appears that the plants have three different requirements regarding temperature, dormancy, etc.

The cube came with a Sundew, VFT, and a pitcher plant. So this brings me to my questions....

How will I know when/if they need repotted?

Is it possible to separate the three of them without killing them?

Do they even need a cover?

My apologies, for I'm new to these plants. Many thanks!

~Anthony

Comments (8)

• petiolaris
    16 years ago

I would repot them all, since they have differing summer, winter, lighting, and drainage requirements. VFT's should be outside. Neps do well in hanging baskets.

• ilbasso_74
    16 years ago

Which pitcher plant? I've gotten that same combination and it was the Purple Pitcher. I am happy to say that that plant is in its second year after surviving a northern Ohio winter and pitchers like crazy.

Getting to that, however, is going to be tricky. Leave the top open slightly for a day or so. Then open it a little bit more for a few days and so on. You need to get them as far away from that death cube as possible but they need to be gradually acclimated to the outside humidty. If they start to wilt, close the lid a little and continue opening it more slowly.