Return to the Carnivorous Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
miracle grow sphagnum

Posted by ehsahr 6 (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 6, 08 at 2:07

Hello all.

I've been growing CPs for a few months now and I'm doing OK with it. I've bought a couple of death cubes and potted them in my own soil mix & have been giving them distilled & rain water (they're outside).

So far so good... I lost a sundew, but the pitcher plants I have are doing fine.

However, today I picked up a few more pitcher plants and decided I would try a bog garden approach. After getting everything set up and the CPs planted, I realized, to my horror, that the sphagnum moss I've been using for all my CPs is Miracle Grow! Apparently I'm just that unobservant.

My question is: at this point, with all my plants recently re-potted, would it be better to re-re-pot them in an unfertilized sphagnum moss/perlite mix OR to just leave them be?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: miracle grow sphagnum

I'd repot them personally. I HATE that Miracle grow puts ferts in their products. They have so many types of mixes and soils it's ridiculous.

o

I would repot the plug in good media, so as to not shock the plants. And then I would rinse with good water. In other words, try not to disturb the roots and clean them with clean water.

o

I too just saved my sundews from making a similar error .I PUT mine in African Voilet mix .After seeing it illistrated in a book .Igot leary and replanted them into a mix of peat and silicate sand ..pelight and vemicumite mix . And the staghorn is sprouted 3 new leaves in a week . The Drosera capensis red typical is actively shooting up new leaves .And is flowering nicely ..The D.Filliformis Tracia is also has 3 new leaves .I hope yours recover Ehsahr.Good luck and happy growing .

o