Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jmach_gw

Some input on this lighting setup (for VFTs)

jmach
15 years ago

I am considering putting my flytraps outside once I move up to school in a few weeks - the temperatures around here have been in the upper 80s - lower 90s for the last few days and generally they range from 60-100 degrees during the summer here. However, I really like having my flytraps as houseplants - and in hopes of having them grow better and attain better color, I want to replace my current 100W-equivelant CFL bulb.

Basically it's a structure that suspends two 24" fluorescent tubes above the plant at an adjustable height - it comes with two 20-watt AgroBrite tubes. Would this be something you would recommend?

Here is a link that might be useful: I'm looking at buying this

Comments (4)

• hiddenjungle
    15 years ago

I have no experience growing vfts with artificial lighting but if you acclimadate your plant it should grow fine outside, as long as you keep the soil moist. VFT's are usually found in terrariums in the houseplant section but should be outside out of the terariums in full sun to get best results. Many people that are new to cps find that they are fragile and must be kept in perfect conditions to keep it alive, but most people kill there plant trying to provide those conditions, no offence if you have past experience growing carnivorous plants. Cps that can be treated more like tropical house plants would be nepenthes, mexican butterworts and tropical sundews which would be the easiest to start out with, and would grow great under those conditions even though i dont use artificial lights to grow my plants, even indoors. Hope this helps. If you have more questions, all of my experience was learned through this website

Here is a link that might be useful: Sarracenia Northwest/ aka / Cobraplant.com

• mutant_hybrid
    15 years ago