Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
langkai

Sarracenia Minor indoors?

langkai
15 years ago

I tried to find some posts with some information about Sarracenia minor, but either there aren't many or I fail at searching! I tried Google as well... and turned up some results. But I thought I'd get more opinions.

I'm very new to growing carnivorous plants, as I only have one (N. Ventricosa). I was thinking of getting another, the Sarracenia Minor. However, I've heard this plant is easy to grow, but perhaps not so indoors. Can anyone speak from personal experience? I have a huge window in my room that gets about 4-6 hours of sunlight a day, and in the summer it's an average of about 32C (90F).

Considering I had it growing in the right medium, watered it (with distilled water) as it requires (it likes soggy soil, right?)... is it possible this species could survive indoors? I'd love to get one, but I don't want to get one and torture the poor thing if it won't live happily indoors.

Also, how do you care for it when it goes into dormancy?

Comments (11)

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    15 years ago

They need to go dormant and full Sun. Grow it outside. My Sarrs go in the fridge in the fall for the winter. They stay outside as soon as last frost is past.

• langkai
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I would love to grow it outside, but I live on the ninth floor of an apartment building, and the balcony gets DEADLY winds. They're really horrible.

Maybe I'll have to wait until I have a house!

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    15 years ago

You COULD grow Sundews inside in a window for now. They're easy. d.Adelae grow like weeds!

• langkai
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Are there any other carnivorous plants that will do well inside? Or is it pretty limited.

Thanks for all the info so far!

• petiolaris
    15 years ago

There's a whole mess that will grow inside! Many sundews, terrestrial utrics, butterworts, Asian pitcher plants,....

• langkai
    Original Author
    15 years ago