Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
singhin_gw

Carnivorous plants need rescuing

singhin
18 years ago

Check out your local Home Depots and Lowes. They are both, at least in my area currently selling the little 3inch pots w/the plastic cup on top.

Have not seen any VFT, but have seen Sundews, Nephes, Butterworts and Pitchers.

Do the plants some justice and get them out of their current situations.

I am just getting into this particular fasinating plant world, usually hang out in the Passiflora forum.

Currently have 2 VFT, 1 Sundew (not sure which one yet) and 1 Sweet Pitcher (I think), only going by the labels on those little pots.

Have ordered a Sweet Pitcher grab bag from Cobraplant, expecting them next week and hoping to join their Plant of the month club.

Live in the Hi Desert of So. Calif. sunset 11, USDA 8.

Anyway go rescue these little guys, if your local stores have them yet.

Debbie

Comments (15)

• xymox
    18 years ago

I've been to home depot lately, but whenever i go it's too late. Sometimes i usually rescue VFTs. Home Depot usually Has Nepenthes hybrids(species not named) , Usually they sell drosera Adelae, or Rotundifolia(many clumps), The sweet pitcher plant is most likely a Sarracenia purpurea, which i've been wanting for a while.. i've never had any luck by rescuing any Sarracenia purpurea.. i would buy or trade with anyone who has one.. i don't mind if it's small, but it has to be currently growing(and pre-potted)All plants i trade are sent pre-potted, sometimes bare-root.. I have a couple of plants for trade.. anyone can feel free to e-mail me and i will give you my trading list.. i also have drosera capensis seeds.

PS: if you have a sarracenia purpurea and if you are interested.. feel free to e-mail me. i will give you my current trading list.

Thanks.

• lleopardggecko
    18 years ago

I hear ya man!