Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shubies

Amazing plant.

shubies
17 years ago

Hi, I am a newbie to this forum AND the world of carnivorous plants.

My first plant is a sarracenia Judith Hindle. It is a beautiful outdoor plant.I am astonished to see that it eats "Yellow Jackets"! Several weeks ago I noticed one yellow jacket trying to make a great escape by chewing it's way out of the plants stem, And there was a dead yellow jacket behind the one that was trying to chew it's way out. The plant seems none the worse for the hole that was chewed in it.

Yesterday I decided to put the plant in our root cellar for the winter and when I picked it up it had three yellow jackets visiting it.

My question is, is this the main food for a Sarracenia and can these insects harm the plant? It seems that they must deliver stings when they realize they are captured.

Just hoping for some answers. And loving this splendid plant.

Pat

Comments (14)

• xymox
    17 years ago

the sarracenia specias can devour any type of flying bugs. Yellow jackets do seem to harm a bit on Sarracenia's trumpets. but they are not mainly a problem. the problem on Sarracenias are Mealy Bugs. they look white in color. they usually hang out on the Sarracenia's lower trumpets/leaves.
    a pesticide is used to get rid of these pests.

sarracenias can devour hundreds of different flying insects in few days. the more they devour, the faster they grow. make sure to grow it outside in full sun. these are sun loving plants. don't worry about the Yellow jackets, these are not the main pests for these magnificent plants

• shubies
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Xymox, Thank you for your kind reply. I'm really excited about getting to know this amazing plant family a little better! I guess one a good place to start, is this forum.

Thanks again, Pat

• petiolaris
    17 years ago

Particularly in the late summer, yellow jackets seem to abound. Have you considered sundews, butterworts or bladderworts?