Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aristo_gw

My venus fly trap(clayton's red sunset)

aristo
13 years ago

I purchased my fly trap online and received it October 20, 2010. 3 days ago, from today we had a horrible storm, was pouring rain for over 5 hours. I was at work so I couldn't bring my plant inside. I kept it outside since I got it. I checked it when I got home and seemed waterlogged I turned it upside down and squeezed excess water out. Thinking the roots had begun to rot I did a transplant into new moist dirt. I keep it in a terracota pot with the whole at the bottom and a watering tray, i water it from the bottom. It's fall over here and when I got the plant it was in good condition but now seems to be turning brown and discolored, some green is left in the stems but it's not looking well. Is it going into dormancy or dying? I had to cut 2 traps off that went very brown and black. This is my first time with a venus plant and i'm very worried I might lose it. I uploaded a picture of it any help would be awesome. Thanks.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:565674}}

Comments (10)

• taz6122
    13 years ago

Dirt is a no-no. They live in acidic nutrient poor soil. Do a search toward the bottom of the previous page which has a "this forum" selection for soil or media. Then search vft dormancy.

• petiolaris
    13 years ago

Long Fibered Sphagnum (LFS) is what you need. It's also called orchid moss and can be found at Lowes for $4.24.

• aristo
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Hey guys I am using sphagnum peat moss and perlite, a 70/30 mix. Do you think it will make it? Today I saw its trap was closed so I hope it will any more advice would be awesome.

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    13 years ago

Normal soil mix is 50/50 but that should be o.k. Time will tell if it makes it....

• taz6122
    13 years ago

I wouldn't keep the water level very high with that mix, in fact I would let the tray go dry for a couple days between watering.

• florida_guy_26