Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stevexyz

Dormancy in purple pitcher plant???

stevexyz
15 years ago

I am a newbie at this, do my Sarracenia purpurea(Purple pitcher plant) need dormancy for bigger growth next year or would that be too riskey? I can put them in the fridge, they are in pots I can also just leave them outside if that wont kill them I live in Dallas, TX?

Comments (18)

• hunterkiller03
    15 years ago

They do need dormancy, just by lowering the photoperiod & placing it in a cool place.

If you are growing it outside, that will come naturally. I place my sarraccenias & VFTs in the fridge for the winter. Never lost one yet.

Fail to give them dormancy, they will become week & eventually die.

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    15 years ago

They'll be fine outside where you are I think, how cold does the winter nights get?

These grow naturally in the northeast up to Canada.

• mcantrell
    15 years ago

Hm, does that also include S. leucophylla and Sarracenia hybrids? Should I plan to have them inside the fridge with the VFTs this winter?

About what time of the year should they head towards the fridge? We had a cold snap this weekend (a high of like 35 and lows in the low 20s), but I had the VFT in the windowsill for the time being. Now that we're back to the mid-50s and 60s I might put him back outside to re-acclimate to outside temperatures.

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    15 years ago

Yes, those need dormancy too. ALL American pitcher plants need it. When outside night air gets in the 40's I leave them out until it gets near frost then in the fridge they go! Just put mine in.

• mcantrell
    15 years ago

Woooo boy. We've been hitting the mid to low 20s at night lately, but we're in a bit of a cold spell. Guess when I get home it's time for the fridge!