Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gingerpyro

germination and growing vft and sarracnia

gingerpyro
17 years ago

i have just germinated a vft seed and i was wondering about what was the best care i could give it as winter is starting up and the light level is drastically decreasin, i also have the same problem with my sarracina thou they havent germinated yet.

Comments (31)

• xymox
    17 years ago

you should grow your seedlings under artificial lights for now. atleast 16 hours daily under lights should be way enough, With the lights 6" inches above the seedlings. Always use the watering tray method and never allow their soil to dry out.

Sarracenia seeds take time to germinate, did you stratified them first before planting them?

• gingerpyro
    Original Author
    17 years ago

thanks very much I'm quite new to this an i've done plenty of research its was just that my girl friend bought me some seeds and i got carried away an planted them straight away but i did cold stratify the sarrecina seeds but not the vft but that is the one that germinated first, wierd!

• rezan
    17 years ago

Hi there,

I am new to growing carnivorous plant. I have just bought a green venus flytraps and it has produced flowers. I am a newbie so if i ask a newbie questions, please guide me.

How do i germinate it and get seedling's from it? I do not want to buy new seeds so i want to harvest the seeds from my existing plant so i can breed new batches.

• xymox
    17 years ago

Hey rezan,

if you want your new plant to produce lots of seeds, make sure to grow it outside in the sun. or under very bright artificial lights for 16 hours per day.
    Keep in mind that flytraps use lots of energy making that flower stalk. so it needs lots of light, specially because it's winter.

just make sure your plant gets enough light during the day:

1)Natural Sunlight - 4 to 6 Hours of direct sunlight.

2)Artificial Lighting - 16 Hours daily.