Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
david146_gw

First winter struggles

David146
9 years ago

Well, I'm in quite a pickle here... This afternoon I picked up my pitcher plant and Venus flytrap only to find their soil frozen. I'm pretty sure they'll survive at least, but if I want to keep them dormant, I'll have to keep them outside, but if I keep them outside, they'll freeze to death. Soo.... What should I do? There is a refrigerator method, but this is my first winter with them, so I don't feel comfortable trying that out. I'd rather keep them outside if possible, like covering their soil with leaves or something. Please help me out, I'm just a novice at this, and would gladly take some constructive criticism.

Comments (11)

• David146
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And the pitcher plant.

• cooperdr_gw
    9 years ago

Definently don't try the refrigerator thing unless they're bare-rooted and cleaned. Mine turned all rotten and moldy in about two weeks. I was just following the directions on my venus flytrap but with no circulation or light it just didn't work.

• hunterkiller03
    9 years ago

When I used to use the refrigerate method. After cutting off the old leaves & cleaning the plants. I wrapped the bulbs and rhizomes with moistened long-fiber sphagnum moss & place them inside a ziploc bag, then inside a box, which in turn was placed inside the refrigerator. Usually where the vegetables are kept. I don't pack them tightly with the moss, just enough to wrap the plant, & I don't seal the bag all the way. Checking them once in a while & making sure the sphagnum moss is moist.

But I change that method by simply putting them in cool part of the house, like a garage or a porch. Pot & all.