Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
enjoyingthesilence

VFT in dorm room

enjoyingthesilence
17 years ago

Hi! This is my first time posting here, as I haven't had a carnivorous plant since about age 10, haha.

My name is Lucia, and as of Saturday night I am the proud owner of a brand new venus flytrap. My boyfriend brought her over for me last time he visited. He doesn't know it, but I've said before that I'll fall in love with any boy who brings me a venus flytrap instead of roses. :3

Anyway. I've been reading all sorts of articles and posts online about VFTs, because I want to take super-good care if it this time. They never did very well when I was 10, mostly because I had no idea what I was doing. So, I've read a lot about how VFTs need a dormant period to survive. I live in Delaware, which has temperamental winters--they can be 50F or 15F, depending. I have my VFT on my dorm room windowsill at the moment, because even if the winters were Carolina-ish, I live in a college dorm and have no outdoor spot to put her. Also, the plant just came from a grocery store. Not ideal, but hey, at least it has a shot at life now. I have no idea what season it thinks it is. According to pictures online, I think it has fall-type leaves--low-lying and kind of limp? It's sending up new traps, though. It has a few brown/black spots and leaves, but it could be from poor treatment. Should I send it home to my mom's house to let it live outside, or keep it by my cool-ish windowsill and hope for the best?

Any other tips for keeping a VFT in a dorm room with few bugs available would be helpful, too. Thanks! I'll check responses after class.

Comments (11)

• xpochian
    17 years ago

Congrats on the purchase.

Personally, my collection started with a VFT my girlfriend had bought me in college. He's now a grandfather of two other VFT's and the start of a relatively successful collection of cp's.