Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pennys2006

advice on my new plants

pennys2006
17 years ago

hi i am fairly new to carnivorous plants and have started a collection so far i have

Cephalotus Follicularis

Nepenthes

sarracenia "hydride" (thats what it said on the label)

about 6 other sarracenias unknown varietys

Drosera binata T form

Dorsera rotundifolia (is this a sundew?)

Drosera capensis (white and red)

Pinguicula weser

venus fly trap

Ulticularia Livida

" Dichotomis

" Parthenopipes

" Subulata

Do all need to be stood in water 24/7 and which ones like it cold and which ones like it warmer,does any one know which ones will survie outside in the uk and can anyone tell me how i can make a small peatbog garden in a large container.

I also have recently germinated some sarracenia seeds in a heated propagator they dont have true leaves yet and i was wondering if i should remove them or leave them till they get true leaves also once removed them how should i look after them untill they are a bit bigger,

does any one feed there plants insects when there arent many about? should i find them flys? is it ok to feed them any insects?

Can anyone advise me on how to grow under lights and what lights to use i have never done this before so any help would be great

sorry to ask so many questions but i just dont have a clue

anyone looking to trade cp for other cp please email me as i have several of most varietys

cheers Penny

Comments (5)

• petiolaris
    17 years ago

Hi Penny: The Nepenthes, C. follicularis, VFT, and the P. weser shouldn't be sitting in water, or at least much of it. They need good drainage. They can sit in a little water, but I would recommend relatively deep pots and watered sparingly. The rest can have their pots sitting in an inch or so of water.