Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cmm889

Start up Drosera eek?

cmm889
16 years ago

so I'm a somewhat of a novice enthusiast I have about 8 or 9 vfts I've been growing for a while along with the small droseras ( 1 alata, 1 spatulata, 1 cape ) their all growing pretty well... but Im getting another set of lights and I just really love these drosera's would it be a smarter set up to just wait till I can divide these? or start up by seed? I know with plants like the vft's its way too long of a process to grow from seed and I didnt know if drosera was the same thing...

any help?

Comments (4)

• mutant_hybrid
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hello Cmm889,

Good going with your plants.

I have never heard of a Drosera alata... the Latin term alate (winged) is usually reserved for plants that produce winglike extensions, like Nepenthes alata and Sarracenia alata. Can you describe that sundew?

Sundews tend to grow fast, however; will grow faster from root cuttings, leaf cuttings, and plant division. The Drosera spatulata in particular will generate root runs a short distance from the adult plant and eventually create a dome like clump. You can easily (as long as you are patient and careful with the roots) divide that clump into a dozen or two plants that will all produce their own clumps eventually. They are very resilient and will survive such division quite well. You just have to unpot them, clean the roots off, and start pulling and prying at the clump with your fingers until you find natural division points that will begin to tease apart more easily as you go.