Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txbelle

CP's suitable for office environment

txbelle
17 years ago

Hi - As I'm sure you've read a hundred times before, I am a newbie to CP's, although I am a very experienced grower of other types of plants. Can you advise me of the types of CP's that can suitably be grown in an office environment? Two different areas - one, a north facing window sill, and the other, completely under office florescent lighting. We have a subborn fungal gnat problem - no amount of withholding of moisture gets rid of them. We cannot open windows in our office building, so using toxic chemicals on the existing plants doesn't do much for me - since I'll be breathing it, too. So..are there any CP's suitable? I was reading about Sundews - they seem interesting. Any advice? I need to know where to start! Thanks in advance.. TX Belle

Comments (14)

• petiolaris
    17 years ago

Um... well... north is not the best exposure for CP's, unfortunately. If there was a way of rigging up a cheap fluorescent shoplight over them, then that would work. As to the other scenario, with office fluorescent lighting, is it what would shine on them from the ceiling? If it is, it isn't enough. It's too far away to beneficial. Artificial lighting needs to be ~6" away from the plants. I have a cheap fluorescent shoplite over much of my collection, in our closet, 4" above them. As long as the folks in the office don't mind some CP's at a window sill, would they also tolerate a shoplite?

If that is a viable approach, many, many sundews, butterworts, and bladderworts (with miniature orchid-like flowers) would be suitable. Below is a link to what I had, most at window sills, at the lab in which I used to work. But I had SW, SE, and NW window sills to use.

Here is a link that might be useful: Jimscott's Plants

• txbelle
    Original Author
    17 years ago