Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hapslappy

Habitat for N. Bicalcarata?

Hapslappy
18 years ago

My sweet sister bought me a Nepenthes Bicalcarata last year for Christmas. It is alone in a glass globe with marbles & distilled water. So far, it has only produced a few leaves, the last one popped out a week ago, so it is still growing....but no pitchers. She wants to buy me some kind of setup with lighting attached so it may do better. I am new to this type of plant...can anyone give me some ideas to help this guy grow up & thrive? Thanks for any input, Shannon :0)

Comments (17)

• back2eight
    18 years ago

It probably does not have enough light or humidity. It needs a lot of both. Also, try spraying it with a foliar feeding of a weakened solution of superthrive. It takes a lot of energy for them to produce the pichers. If there is any pitchers at all you can feed it a bug. If you have a bathroom window, maybe, that is facing a direction that gets a lot of sunlight, that would be good until you get a light. When you get a light, and someone can correct me if I am wrong, but get a flourescent light. good luck with the plant!

Kristi

• wildbill
    18 years ago

These plants love it warm & wet, also a large pot size helps ( at least 6 inch).

Is it planted in the marbles or in a pot sitting on the marbles? An occasional feeding every two to three weeks can help (Koi pellets, crickets, other bugs), or a weak foliar feeding. I use a pinch of soluble orchid fertilizer in a spray mist bottle.

Take a look over in the orchid forums and search for the post, Orchardariums Anyone? I posted about my setup and uploaded a couple of pics there with my large bical.

Bill

• Hapslappy
    Original Author
    18 years ago