Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rototiller_gw

WANTED: bamboo, please

rototiller
18 years ago

i would like to plant bamboo in my garden

I am new to south east, and like to have this plant in my garden very much as hedge plant.

Anybody that can spare some free bamboo seedlings in area around Greenville-Easley, SC, please let me know

THANKS

Comment (1)

• tamelask
    18 years ago

we got some a few yrs ago. if you look around, you're bound to see it growing in some older areas. most of what you'll see around is phyllostachys aurea. stop and ask if there's someone home, or try to determine who owns the prop(web searches through your county are real helpful.) once you get permission, be prepared to work you hind end off! it's extremely hard to dig bamboo- the roots are like steel cable. figure on it taking an hr or 2 just to get a chunk that's about 3' square out of the ground. that's with 2 people working. the roots aren't deep, just tough. best time to dig is after it shoots in spring, (from march til may, depending on the species) or in the fall. it's fragile when it's shooting so you wouldn't want to dig it then.