Return to the Carolina Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
wanted: have: lots of gilbert wild hostas (100/$100 mix extras)

Posted by agathawords 7a_7b (My Page) on
Thu, May 28, 09 at 0:51

Newbie here who has ambitiously ordered the 100 hostas/$100 deal from Gilbert Wild, as recommended elsewhere on the site.

I know I'll have extras, though, and I am hoping to fill in this perennial shade garden with some ferns (any kind), lady's mantle, heuchera, ornamental grasses-- from what I hear, the standard stuff for a shade bed. It will be framed by Anabelle and variegated hydrangea. I'd also be open to suggestions-- though I am imagining a simple scheme of greens, whites, and golds.

My trade list is updated and I'd love anything on it as well. I'd be happy to send you extra hostas if you'll give me planting and/or packaging advice (Durham area)-- this is my first trade, and I want to be a good GardenWebber :)

Thanks all.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: wanted: have: lots of gilbert wild hostas (100/$100 mix extr

I have some silver thyme and also, if you are interested in others not on your list, common thyme, and golden variegated thyme I can send some clumps of for you to root.

I have a ton of Hosta and nowhere to put anymore at the moment but wouldn't mind some Gardenia cuttings. I have never mailed cuttings but thotlz seems to have a good idea that sounds like it would work here:

Question about mailing cuttings

o
Meant to add...

I can also send some bleeding heart (dicentra) stem cuttings.

o

Hi aezarien!

Thanks so much for your reply. I'm so sorry I haven't checked back-- was told we'd have wi-fi on vacation but had no reliable signal. Are you still interested?

If so, I'd love the thyme clumps... if you don't have them, I can certainly still send hosta! Again, not sure what varieties they are, but I certainly have a lot.