Return to the Carolina Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
WANTED: when to plant collards,kale,cabbages for fall

Posted by liznbeatle 7 (My Page) on
Fri, Oct 27, 06 at 11:10

I am two years into an organic herb vegie garden, and new to the carolina long growing season. I am trying to plan out a continual growing schedule. This is my first year with rhutabagas, they were wonderful, but I seem to have misjudged the fall planting. How much heat can the sprouts take? I was afraid to start them in the extreme heat, so I planted September and seems like mine are far behind others I see growing. Will turnips, collards, cabbages keep growing here all winter if I cover during hard freezes? I would like any advice I can get, as my family eats from my garden and mistakes mean less food. My daughter and I have chemical sensitivity and the home grown organics are much better for us.Also would like any feedback on growing tomaties in the square foot garden method, what successes-problems have you encountered. Has it caused an increase in pest problems for you? Thanks Lisa

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: WANTED: when to plant collards,kale,cabbages for fall

liz- i'd move this post over to the discussions board if i were you; it's not really and exchange and you'll get a lot more responses.

that said, your collards, cabbage & kale will go all winter unless it's more cold than normal (i'd maybe consider covering if it's gonna dip below 15). you could grow them under reemay/row cover, too, which will help the fluctuating temps & moisture levels some. also cuts way down on cabbage worms. i couldn't believe how much it helped my lettuce last yr.

i've always wondered about starting things when it's so hot, too. i don't know if the commercial ones start them in cool houses, or what. mine are always far behind, but they do fine in winter. they will just mature later, that's all. you could always buy a few commercial 6 packs and plant them so you have a staggered crop.