Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ncdirtdigger

I am amazed at this winter sowing stuff

ncdirtdigger
15 years ago

This is my first year winter sowing, and I gotta say, I am amazed.

I sowed a week before Xmas and had sprouts within a couple of weeks. Being new at this, I potted up a few of each variety and put the rest back out. We have had temps from 60 to 17 with some snow thrown in and the sprouts are still doing fine. I was sure that the freeze would do them in.

Comments (12)

• Lynda Waldrep
    15 years ago

Yes, it can be addictive. I like it because I can try to grow some of the more difficult to find natives, most of which take two years or more to germinate and need stratification. I have also been very successful with hardy cyclamens. I am still having a little trouble in the growing out stage, i.e., potting up and trying to get them to a good garden size. I also have to remember to put the seeds in a tall container if I plan on leaving them in there for a few seasons. Oh, it gives me some plant swap material, especially for the native plant lovers. Have fun.

• nckvilledudes
    15 years ago

Try starting the seeds later in the season (say January or so after the colder temps arrive), then you won't have to worry about them germinating too early and you having to pot them up and bring them inside. The whole concept of wintersowing is that you plant during colder temps so they have all winter to go through freeze thaw cycles and they don't germinate until spring when they should. The seedlings then germinate outside and you don't have to worry about hardening them off. Potting seedlings up and bringing them inside is not part of wintersowing as it is most commonly done.

• Lynda Waldrep
    15 years ago