Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alicia7b

Is gardening your main hobby?

alicia7b
16 years ago

Is gardening your main hobby, or your favorite one? I suppose I would say that horses are my main hobby (practically a job, as a matter of fact) but sometimes I prefer gardening -- less risk and angst involved.

Comments (33)

• monisha
    16 years ago

when i studied botany
    fashion was my hobby,

then i studied fashion
    ( & it became a career)
    and
    botany (err.. gardening)
    became my hobby !

:-)

• ronda_in_carolina
    16 years ago

All my 'play' time is spent reading garden books and magazines, reading Garden Web or dreaming of whats next for my garden. It is my passion.

Ronda

Here is a link that might be useful: My Garden

• lilamy
    16 years ago

Horses are my 'main' hobby as well. I have three and they are mostly pets, though I do some carriage driving from time to time. Luckily they give back to the garden hobby. :) After that I love to sew, do graphic design and logos, paint and pastel. I would like to get into wood working...though I am not sure where I would find the time or money. :)

• tamelask
    16 years ago

yes, it's my main hobby, but i have a lot of different interests that i flit between too. second by time spent is reading (or even first sometimes, but some is garden related), and i don't know if movie watching would count or not, but we catch 2-3 a week, mostly netflix. our birds (and other pets- fish, turtles, crabs) would also count i guess- but i don't think of them as a separate hobby so much as feathered members of the family. their care is no different in my mind than ours. i also like do most anything arty-farty - ie: to sew, paint/sketch, photography, make jewelry, paint fabric, make soaps, bake, cards, etc. i tend to get really into something for a while and then switch gears. i normally end up revisiting each passion periodically- so i don't think it's a fad so much as not having enough hours in the day. :)

• aisgecko