Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
npgeepin

Garden a mud pit!

npgeepin
14 years ago

I am new to gardening and tilled up my first garden space last fall. Thought I did good loosening up the clay soil to something workable. Then it rained. Now I have a mud wrestling pit. The land has a slight slope but now I am concerned it will never dry out. I plan on going down to the Raleigh yard waste and getting some more compost. Any advice on how to deal with or should I consider a new spot?

Thanks,

Steve & Nancy

Comments (6)

• anchasta
    14 years ago

Gardening in this clay is new to me, too!

I covered up a spot in fall with newspaper once I tilled it up and pulled out the grass clumps. Then I covered it over with a dark tarp to keep it warmer and attract the worms to help break it up under there. On spring, I'm planning to open it up and surround it with untreated wood so I can add some compost and maybe some vermiculite or peat or sand to handle the water and aerate the clay some more.

I'm also planning on making some purposefully SQUISHY spots to add the swampy stuff that I miss from Virginia: violets, chickweed, and the like.

Good luck to you, I'd like to hear your ideas or any other suggestions that you get here!

• tamelask
    14 years ago