Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
unc_mlt

Dorm Plants

unc_mlt
14 years ago

Hey!

I'm a student in college, and I currently live in a dorm. I recently bought a snake plant because it brought a little life and air filtration to my room. I've been researching for more plants, but I was wondering if there were any flowering plants that were capable to thrive in a dorm setting and relatively durable. Also, recommendations for plants that are good at air filtration would be great too.

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• rootdiggernc
    14 years ago

My fav low light plant is a peace lily. It's very easy to care for and mine blooms indoors. Also look for different types of snake plants (sansevieria) there are so many varieties. Not just color/variegation, but while most of us are use to the ones that grow very straight and tall there are short wide ones and some that drape, etc... Heart-leaf philodendron is another super easy plant, can even be grown in water. Doesn't bloom, but you could grow it in a really pretty (or odd) container, even change the containers to fit the seasons/occasion. Do you have a windowsill? My son grew an aloe plant on his and it did fine, just keep water to a minimum. Angel-wing begonias can add lots of color and some blooming if you have a little light. You can always add a lot of variety with variegation, textures and colors, both with the plant or containers. Have fun!

Here is a link that might be useful: low light bloomers

• dottie_in_charlotte
    14 years ago

Nice thing about snake plants is they are quite vertical and take up very little space in a dorm room where storage space is at a premium, especially when you have a roommate.
    Plus, you can go home for vacations and the snakeplant will never even notice you're gone.

• unc_mlt
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks! I'm really considering a peace lily, especially since I heard it's pretty great at removing air pollutants.