Return to the Carolina Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Clematis, do you have a favorite vendor

Posted by carla17 Z7 NC (My Page) on
Wed, Feb 27, 08 at 13:27

I know about Silver Star Vinery, Brushwood, and Joy Creek.
Can anyone suggest some that are closer to NC or that you've dealt with before.

Thanks,
Carla

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Clematis, do you have a favorite vendor

I try not to purchase out of state, because the results for me have been dismal, I have been raising plants for 40 years, but Costco does sell packaged perennials in the spring, including Clematis, different varieties, but maybe not what you are seeking. They also sell bulbs in the fall and for 50 daffodil bulbs for $10, that is a bargin on any planet.

Here is a link that might be useful: Propagating Perennials

o

I have seen Chalk Hill recommended.

o

Chalk Hill is good. I've bought clematis bulbs from Home Depot before and had great success w/ them. I'd trust Chalk Hill's plants for consistency, though.

o

Brushwood Nursery, Silver Star Vinery, and Chalk Hill all have good plants. If you don't mind growing them out, Donahues sells small plants that are nice as does Koi Village (have their own website and sell on eBay). I have also purchased clematis from the now defunct Collectors Nursery, Joy Creek, Seneca Hills Perennials, Plant Delights, the place in Sanford that rhymes with Dig Doomers and a multitude of other places and sellers on eBay.

For the record, clematis do not grow from bulbs so there is no such thing as clematis bulbs. They have crowns though!

o

Thanks all.
I have seen quite a few I lust after at Brushwood. May check out some closer places. Chalk Hill is a biggie I remember.

Carla

o

I was wondering about the bulb thing myself. There is not clematis bulb.