Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vha7777

Will Lupines Grow Here?

vha7777
18 years ago

Hello, I really want to try growing some Lupines in a shady area of my garden but I have never tried them before here. I'm just worried that the heat and humidity is going to be too much for them. I'm going to try sowing them this week and see what happens. Anybody have some experience in the southern part of the state with these plants? Thanks!

Comments (22)

• seedbandito
    18 years ago

I had a good patch of them a few years back. Had them in part sun & they were doing really well. I've since moved & tried last year to get some started and they all failed. I may have kept them too wet. I have a bunch of them started again in the greenhouse to try again this year. I'll put them in part sun in a drier area of the gardens. They will do well here in the south, it's just a matter of finding the right place for them. Don't give up on them. Good luck.

Nancy

• brenda_near_eno
    18 years ago

Carolina Lupine, Thermopsis villosa, does well. It is a different plant altogether.

Here is a link that might be useful: Thermopsis villosa

• aisgecko
    18 years ago

I have seen some growing here beautifully, but I don't know the secret. Maybe those were greenhouse grown and put out while flowering or something. I have tried several times and not gotten them to flower before the heat gets them. I'm trying some from seed this year too. I think in the perfect spot you could grow them, but they are not easy in this climate. -Ais.

• alicia7b
    18 years ago

Most people grow baptistas and Carolina bush pea as a substitute for lupines in the South.

• vha7777
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for the advice! Hopefully I will have some seedlings to play around with in the spring. Will I be fine sowing them right now? I'm just about to do my sweet peas this week too.

• trianglejohn
    18 years ago