Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
churchofbotany

Blueberry

churchofbotany
11 years ago

I want to order 20 blueberry bushes [three-years old] and eat them this summer.What varieties are the very best for our zone? I am not in Raleigh ( zone 8) but closer to zone 7.I suppose it is seven and a half!

Comments (3)

• trianglejohn
    11 years ago

I am not a blueberry expert so others may offer better advice.

I always plant a mixture of types so that at least one variety does well each summer. Some do better during wet years while others do better when its super hot and dry. You can't control the weather so its best to plan for anything. I like the flavor of O'Neal, which handles high heat better than most but it also tends to bloom way too early which can damage the crop. This year about half of its flower buds have already opened and been damaged by freezing weather.

If you order them from a catalog or website you will get the best sized plants for establishing a bed or row in the garden but it won't be the best sized plants for fruit the first year. You might get fruit the first year but I doubt it will be a full crop. Alternately you can buy larger container grown bushes at any garden center right about now. You can see the this years flowers on them so you'll know how big the crop will be.

I have noticed that the prices tend to be the same whether you're buying them from a big box store or a garden center, so don't think you'll save a lot of money by buying from Home Depot.

I have also noticed that many of the plants offered are actually grown somewhere in this state (we have some large blueberry farms) so they are not shipping them in from out of state.

You really have to work your soil and be prepared to water them in order to succeed in this climate. I have wild blueberries nearby and still I struggle to keep my garden plants happy. They like a lot more water than I thought.

• Lynda Waldrep
    11 years ago