Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tnflowerlover

Irises

Should I be worried if my rhizome irises are not blooming yet? I transplanted them last year. I see some others blooming, but only two of mine have. Thy did settle themselves a little under the soil, so I will uncover them today. Is there still time to bloom, or are thy going to wait until next year? This is my first year (they were neglected).

MyDutch irises are coming out nicely, though!

Comments (8)

• chas045
    11 years ago

My iris bloomed the first year after fall transplant. None of my iris have bloomed yet this year although a neighbor's that are in full sun have been blooming for a week. I have some old fashioned iris (like my neighbor's) that are about ready to bloom, but my large iris are not ready yet.

Over in the iris forum, I have heard that there are even some iris that bloom much later in the season. However, I would expect most to bloom soon.

• ncdirtdigger
    11 years ago

Bloom time can vary depending on the variety you have. I would not be concerned as yet. Can you see any evidence of bloom stalks forming?

• chas045
    11 years ago

Slight modification of my original post. My large bearded iris (most from the same source) in two areas now have bloom stalks, but a third area that also has established iris still show no signs. That area was established later. Perhaps bloom is slower for recently or non-established beds.

• TNflowerlover Zone 7a
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thx! I only see one bloom stalk on the bearded irises now. I have no idea what they are...they came with the house, but never bloomed until one did last December and two did a few weeks ago. I will keep crossing my fingers! The few that did bloom are a deep, gorgeous purple. :) oh, I should have mentioned this bunch was transplanted last June; another was from the fall (but they are from my husband's ancestor's home and much-neglected, so I do not expect blooms on that bunch this year).

• chas045