Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ceezer_gw

New to gardening - SC

ceezer
14 years ago

I apologize if this has been covered. I will be searching the site (and have already been searching Google, which is how I found y'all) for answers and insight but I have so many questions and I'm afraid I might forget some of them before I get around to searching.

I'm new to gardening but decided I would really like to give it a shot. I own a home outside of Sumter, SC and have just about a full acre of land. Unfortunately, it's all hill, so I figure a raised bed would be my best option. I also have some of the yard in a chain-link fence up against the house that feels like is wasted space (because of the fence, which was there when I bought the home), so I'll probably garden within that area to put it to use and also, hopefully, help deter some of these local rascals from getting to it. I'll probably build (at least) 2 raised beds; one for me and my vegetables, and one for my 9 year old daughter to plant whatever she wants.

Currently I'm condidering the following vegetables, as these are what I eat most: broccoli, cauliflower, celery, lettuce, bell peppers, jalapenos, summer squash, beans, and then onions, taters and maybe some herbs.

My questions are:

1. Am I too late for planting in SC?

2. Do any of these plants not work together and might require additional planters (I'm thinking the taters, probably)?

3. I don't need a giant garden as it's just my daughter and I. Could anyone estimate what kind of square footage I'd be looking at so I know how much materials to buy?

4. Does anyone work with raised beds that can recommend one material over another (wood, brick/stone, recycled plastics, etc)? I don't need to take the absolute cheapest route, but would at least like to be mindful of costs.

5. Any suggestions for topsoil & additives that work well in this region?