Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linda_jo_gw

anyone around Raleigh wintersowing?

linda_jo
13 years ago

Is anyone around Raleigh wintersowing? Have you taken the tops off your containers yet? Have you sown annual seeds yet?

Comments (11)

• Judy Brown
    13 years ago

Hi, I'm wintersowing in in Winston-Salem. I started in January. I did my annuals the same time I did the perennials. Just about everything has germinated - cilantro, belles of ireland, cosmos, zinnias, painted daisies and a couple of others. I haven't taken the upper part of the jugs off yet. It's suppose to get up to 82 degrees today so it's going to be soon. I generally down take the tops off until all chances of frost have past. I hope your having as good luck with wintersowing as I am!!!

• linda_jo
    Original Author
    13 years ago

jdbheartease, This is my first year ws. It is thrilling to see all those little seedlings. My husband says no more frost but the almanac says March 31. Is that the date you are going by to plant out? Our weather is so unpredictable in March. I used to use Good Friday as my safe date but this year it is really late- Apr 22.
    Linda

• Judy Brown
    13 years ago

Linda, This is my 3rd year wintersowing. I absolutely love seeing those seedling pop up. I have several of my neighbors also wintersowing. It's addicting. I generally don't put my seedling out until they have gotten to be 1" - 2" in size and all chance of frost past - so late April/May. I do wintersowing a little different every year. The first & second year, I put lots of seeds in the container - well then you have to thin them out and generally I don't need that many seedlings. This year, I didn't put as many seeds in the jug - so I may only have 5 - 8 plants in there.