Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
craftygardner_2008

Would love your input

craftygardner_2008
16 years ago

I will be moving form northern California to the Lexington,SC area this summer.

I have noticed that the soil in my yard is mostly SAND! Unlike the soil out here which is a hard packed clay.What will grow in sandy soil? At the new house I do have a tulip tree,a few crepe Myrtles and some plams from the previous owners and lots of evergreen bushes.No flowers to speak of yet,except some daffadils that poped up last week.

Also can anyone that lives near the area give me some of your thoughts about living in the Midlands?

Greatly appreciated :) Thank you

Comments (6)

• nannerbelle
    16 years ago

I'm on the edge of the sand in Kershaw SC. Beautiful Sandy Loam!!! I'm new to this type of soil myself, just moved into my house a year ago. Prior I was in NC with red clay and a little topsoil over it. The last house was actually Yellow clay with streaks of blue Potters clay running thru it. NOTHING would grow there!! First off, you are going to love the ease of cultivation for the soil!! If you need to dig or till you will think you are in heaven! For grass, plant Bermuda, Centipede or Zoysia(sp). I elected to go with Bermuda because of the lesser price and drought tolerence. I have a blank slate and was starting from complete scratch. I dug up the stumps, raked the soil, threw out the fertilizer and seed and instant yard. No straw and little water. For the first few weeks I had to water but after that, cut back to once or twice a week till water restrictions kicked into stage 3. Then I still had green grass until the fall dormancy stage. For plants, I'm having great success with Palms and Evergreens. I haven't had the chance to put any beds in yet. Last summer was spent on outbuildings to put the tools in. Native on the land, I have a lot of pine and oak. And some prickly paw cactus. I will be doing veggies this year, and have seeds for Sweet corn, Squash, Waterme