Return to the Carolina Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Joe Pye Weed, Hardy hibiscus and Baptisia

Posted by nirenjoshi 7b (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 22, 13 at 12:30

I am new to these plants and bought them for the first time last year. There is no green growth on these yet. Is that normal - the salvias, agastaches & monarda all have lots of new green growth already.
Do Joe Pye weed and Baptisia die down to the ground in the winter here in Raleigh-Durham, NC? Or is it that mine are dead?
I have read that the hardy hibiscus is slow to emerge in spring - when should I expect to see any new growth? Should I cut off the dead branches from last year or will new buds appear on those branches?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Joe Pye Weed, Hardy hibiscus and Baptisia

The hardy hibiscus I had up in Ct. always grew new from the base but I never cut it back more than halfway generally
leaving about 4' of stalk to keep the moisture/ice away from the base and roots. So, I'd wait until last frost date to cut the old stalks.
Joe Pye is sort of location specific as to when it sprouts.
Sun,soil moisture will determine when it's ready to sprout new growth.

o

My baptisia shows a small green shoot which looks like it was damaged by frost - blackened a bit.There is no other sign of life in it as of now. And still no signs of life on the Joe Pye Weed or the hibiscus either. With the weather supposed to warm up next week, I hope I see some shoots soon. Anyone else have these in their yard/garden - whats your experience?

o

I have baptisia in pots and the buds are just poking thru the soil now.
I think last year, mine started to sprout and then did get nipped by some cold , but did recover.
Don't remember when the hibiscus starts to look alive.
Anybody had luck transplanting hardy hibiscus?

o

Have grown hibiscus from seed and also have several plants, some transplanted. They do fine. However, they are almost tropical for me, so they don't show up until much later in the season.