Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deirdre_2007

Transplanting herbs

deirdre_2007
15 years ago

Hello all,

Let me start off by saying that I know never to plant anything until April 15th, which is the traditional last frost here. Does the same rule apply to transplanting? I have some herbs, Rosemary, Thyme, Sage and Oregano that I've left outside in containers all winter. I've harvested them as needed during the past year. I just spend this glorious day outside, raking and weeding a section of my yard that I've been turning into a garden for the past two years.

I had several trees taken down two months ago, and I had them ground into mulch. I want to spread the mulch down on my beautifully cleared garden and I was wondering if I could transplant my herbs now too. I can of course wait until after April 15th if everyone thinks that's the way to go. Thank you for your help.

Comments (5)

• tamelask
    15 years ago

If they are already outside they are perfectly safe to transplant whenever you want to do it. They'll get a better head start on the season the sooner you do, actually. You've already hardened them off (or never let them get tender if they spent all winter out). Being the ground is actually easier on them than in pots, because the ground insulates.

Most herbs like well drained soil, and like to be fairly high & dry so i wouldn't over mulch them. Also, note that fresh wood will likely leach nitrogen out of the soil the first few months (part of the decomposition process), so it might be beneficial to allow it to mellow first. I'm not positive how long that takes, but would leave it longer than 2 mos. Anyone?

• deirdre_2007
    Original Author
    15 years ago