Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alicia7b

How old is your current garden?

alicia7b
16 years ago

I have a few beds around the old house site that I've been working in with varying degrees of success for 11 years. I also have a big perennial bed that's about 35' x 90' that's turning 5 this year. It's matured much faster than the other beds because it's not sloped and doesn't have tree roots in it. Then there's the brand new beds around the old house site.

I am curious to know how old your gardens are and how much they've changed since their inception.

Comments (7)

• tooslim
    16 years ago

Moved here in Fall 2001. Yard, except for some trees and foundation planings, was EMPTY. I don't think the previous owner ever went outside. We planted trees and some shrubs immediately the first fall, also a large number daffodils. Huge sloping bank in backyard planted in 2004--it was completely blank except for a background hedge of Leland Cypress. That was a huge undertaking that we had professional help with due to the size. Last 3 years working on more perennials there, plus perennials on the two sides of the house. It never ends...I am now working on shrubs along property line/sidewalk on side of house.
    http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=0MbMXDNq4YvWA
    This is 2005, looks pretty much the same now except shrubs and trees bigger. Some perennials moved about. Hopefully we won't have a bad drought like last year, 2007 the yard started lovely but lots died last summer.

• nannerbelle
    16 years ago