Return to the Carolina Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Rain water collection at Lowes Knightdale

Posted by mad_about_mickey **7* *N.C. (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 14, 08 at 18:27

they have installed pvc pipe to collect the rain water off the roof into garbage cans in the garden center. There were many cans and most were full, must applaud whoevers idea that was. All the plants looked healthy also.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Rain water collection at Lowes Knightdale

Maybe you could contact the headquarters (here in NC) and let them know about your pleased reaction. Maybe the innovation could be used in all their stores, the person responsible could get some much needed recognition,and you might get a gift certificate!! I have had some great experiences by getting the right praise to the right person! Just a thought. As one who works at a garden center, any little bit really counts!

o

What a great thing! I wonder if they are doing the same at other local stores? I'm sure the regional managers of these stores came up with the idea. I worked at a retail store like that and almost nothing can be done w/o prior approval. I'll check by the local Lowes in N. Raleigh and see if they are doing the same.

o

Logan's Trading Post in downtown Raleigh collects all of their rainwater and uses it solely for watering plants. They have a large roof area due to the old train depot, and collect the water in a large cistern in the back. They don't use any city water for irrigating their plants -- at least that's what they told me.

o