Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
glenn473_gw

Newbie forum

glenn473
16 years ago

I guess I am a huge newbie. Just started researching this forum and really see how much..(I don't know and) I would like to know. Have had a successuful veggie garden past few years with the basics from local big boxes and farm supplies, and am intrieged(sp)about the knowledge I am seeing. Just set out the basics this weekend..onion sets ..transplants of cabbage,broc and seeds of the usual spinach,rad,beet,lettuce ect. Each year I grow the same items such as tomatos that have limited selections and the basics that the Lowes H Depot have..OK shoot me..wondered what it takes to step it up a bit and try options. Looking at the tomato planting forum and not knowing any of the varity they are using has my attention. How and where do I gain info to take this to next level? I will start by reading here! Any basic direction would be apprieciated!

Mucho Thanks

Glenn

Comments (13)

• sandandpines
    16 years ago

Hi Glen473
    I am even a newer member than you are! Just thought I would jump in here since the title is "newbie forum." But reading here seems to be a great start for moving to the next level.

While I'm not a novice gardener, and not even new to NC, I am new to the Sandhills of NC. I know some of the species/genus names but garden mostly by the old-fashioned names my grandmother and mother used. Yes, I do shop at the big boxes, and often get some good stuff there. But never had any "winter honeysuckle"...that sounds good.

Heavy clay? Sure I can deal with that. Sand? Pines? Maybe maybe not, just getting started. One positive thing about the sandy soil is that digging is so easy. I just transplanted some shrubs that were not happy where they were to what I hope will be a better location in the yard. Also just finishing a new brick patio which calls for some new landscaping.