Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maryt_gardener

Mandevilla cuttings questions,.

maryt_gardener
17 years ago

Just got a mandevilla vine. I would like to multiply it if possible. Has anyone had luck with cuttings? What method? And would they grow significantly in one season?

I love the look of this vine in a photo I"ve seen, but its pricey for me so I only got one and its a smaller size. I would rather have several.

Also--how do you overwinter it if anyone does that? Do you cut it back and bring it in house or do you just save cuttings? Mary

Comments (13)

• deborahz7
    17 years ago

I tried to overwinter one last year in my unheated garage. It didn't make it. When I dug it up I noticed several tubes. (I'm still new at this so pardon if I don't use correct terms) Out of curiosity I divided some of the tubes and kept on inside in my propogation box.

When I looked at it a few weeks ago it looked good. Had nice roots. But its just a tube with roots. I'm going to try planting it and see what happens. I have no idea of this will work.

They are expensive but last year it was so beautiful. It did great in our heat & humidity. It was no bother at all with pests, water, sun vs. shade etc. If my rooting doesn't work I will definitely pick up another one this year and try again.

• irislover_nc
    17 years ago

Mary,