Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luvnaz61

Perennial ground cover/ full sun /clay soil/ Blue flowers

luvnaz61
13 years ago

I'm new to gardening in NC. I have a large planter bed along the driveway that is sloped and is in full sun with clay soil. It needs a ground cover!

I especially love blue flowers and am looking for a perennial that will give me masses of showy flowers Spring through Summer!

What would look good and do well in this area? I was considering Asters, but would like some other possibilities.

Thank you!

Comments (14)

• tamelask
    13 years ago

Well, veronica spicata 'georgia blue' is true deep blue and stunning right now, but it'll finish blooming in a few weeks. It's attractive and evergreen, as are all of these, except as noted. Thrift (phlox) has purple blue tones and blooms about the same time. I don't know of any one plant that will bloom for that long- perhaps if you gear towards purple homestead purple verbena, it will meet your needs? It does bloom a very long time, but it's a deep intense purple- not blue at all. For a true blue that blooms in fall, consider plumbago (the perennial ground cover, not the annual). It isn't evergreen, but does get great burgundy tones to the foliage come fall. I'd probably plant a mixture of things- that will give you a multi-toned tapestry effect and extend your color range and bloom time by quite a lot. Plus if disease runs thru, it won't take out the whole bed.

• luvnaz61
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thank you for your reply. I am, after further thought, beginning to see a fuller richer picture of what I would like to eventually have in this area. A mix of colors would be best with height, foliage and bloom time variations. There are already a couple of evergreen junipers and small euonymus shrubs. There are two yuccas that are probably going to go away.

So I think I'm going to plan a mixed perennial bed instead of a large area of ground cover.