Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nandina_gw

Do voles favor Camellia roots as a first choice meal?

nandina
14 years ago

As a Pro I was contacted by a friend in the Greensboro area last evening. Problem: Camellias dying and when removed the roots were heavily chewed either by rats or voles (that's my guess unless some hamsters have escaped). No sign of other plants being attacked in this beautiful organic garden with soils that we all dream of having. I know how to handle the rodent problem. That is not my question. Rather I am asking if those of you in that general area have had a similar problem with Camellia roots favored by rodents over other plants?

Comments (14)

• trianglejohn
    14 years ago

My vast vole collection seems to favor one thing each season and then they move on to something new. All of their habits are unpredictable - where they live, how they travel, what they eat.

• mbuckmaster
    14 years ago

I planted two 3-year old camellias this fall which were promptly eaten by deer, despite many other "tastier" offerings in the garden at that time. The voles haven't found it yet, but in the rodent category the rabbits also favored these plants with their winter attentions.

So, this isn't too helpful, really...but they do seem to be tasty treats for furry feeders. I'd imagine the roots are just as tasty at tea-time.

• Hollyclyff
    14 years ago

I have a huge vole problem and they have never bothered my Camelias - yet. But like John said, their tastes seem to vary. They won't bother something for years and then suddenly it's their favorite thing.

• jimtnc
    14 years ago

I have 9 camellias I've been trying to grow, but after 5 years I'm about to give up. I think everything that walks or crawls likes to eat camellias. Poor thng s don't have a chance

• joraines
    10 years ago