Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dyhgarden

Salvia uliginosa (bog salvia)

DYH
16 years ago

Last year, I planted ONE bog salvia to try. The clear blue color is gorgeous!

There are runners out 3 ft in all directions. I've been pulling and transplanting runners to other areas where I have the space and right conditions. The kids root very quickly without wilt from the transplant. However, I'm now concerned that it will eventually get out of hand. Any experience?

Thanks,

Cameron

Comments (9)

• Dibbit
    16 years ago

How long or how often does something have to happen for you to learn from the experience? I assume you planted this thug in good garden soil? IF you are planting it in very poor soil, it may well remain a good garden denizen and stay where you put it. If it's again in good soil, you may have a permanent boarder - I have an artemisia I have been evicting for 4 years - it keeps popping up in the middle of my daylilies! If you ever fall for Eupatorium coelestis/wild ageratum, be warned that it is a major thug in good soil, spreading up to 5'! Many of the wildflowers are best kept on a very lean diet.

• inthegarden_k
    16 years ago

after a similar experience, i replanted mine in a pot sunk in the ground. i still get a few plantlets nearby, but nothing like the first assault. i do love the flower color!

there is a wretched aster that i planted about 5 years ago that i pulled out at the same time i pulled out the bog salvia...and i still find it creeping around the garden...that aster was banished out of the garden altogether at the time.

live and learn

• alicia7b
    16 years ago

You can control it by pulling runners but I agree with inthegarden that putting it into a pot would be the easiest way to deal with it. Bees love bog sage, it blooms all summer, but it is aggressive.

• karen__w z7 NC
    16 years ago