Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
natureperson_gw

New to NC and have questions about herb growing

natureperson
15 years ago

Hi, I'm new to NC and also new to growing herbs. I would like to grow about 3 herbs on my deck in containers. Can you tell me what herbs you recommend? And also have you grown them altogether in one large terra cotta pot? When is the right time to start this?

Thank you.

Comments (6)

• torajima
    15 years ago

I've grown Lavender, Thyme, Oregano, and Rosemary in pots. Most of it died this winter (we had an unusually cold, wet winter). Just make sure you use a fast draining mix and you should be okay.

• tamelask
    15 years ago

Depends on what conditions your deck has- can you fill us in? Some herbs appreciate a cooler, more moist and partly shady area come summer (mint, cilantro, parsley, etc), while most need hot blazing sun with very well drained conditions. The 4 you mentioned are in the latter category. You wouldn't want to mix the types, and you'd need to have the right kind for your conditions. If you want to branch away from culinary herbs, there are many, many more options, too.

• deirdre_2007
    15 years ago

Natureperson,
    I grew herbs in containers last year. I grew Thyme, Greek Oregano, Italian Parsley, Basil and Sage. The basil did not come back, which I fully expected. I thought the Parsley would overwinter, but it did not. Everything else is doing famously well. I say go for it. I watered them every other day, and they just let me harvest them all summer, fall, winter and now into spring. I took a few books out of the library, to get me started. But they were very carefree and I'm thrilled I did it. I'll plant more basil this year and more parsley and I'll do Rosemary as well.

HTH :)

• computergardener
    15 years ago