Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katie73_gw

Sunflowers- Now ya see 'em, now ya don't?

katie73
17 years ago

Hi all,

My 3 yr old son was all excited to grow sunflowers (thank to several Winnie the Pooh stories!). So, we got some seeds and planted a few at the edge of our garden. They started to come up & when they were a couple inches high, I thought since that went so well (this is my first year attempting to grow a garden) I figured I'd plant some as a border around 2 sides of my yard. The next day I went out to water & saw that something had dug up the newly planted seeds & ate them!! Then, a few days later, the seedlings that had sprouted in the garden were completely gone!! Do you think that whatever ate my seeds came back & got my plants? Any idea what it could be and/ or how to keep it (them?) away. I live in the Triangle area if that makes any difference. I (and my son!) would appreciate any thoughts on this!! Thanks!

Comments (25)

• dawgie
    17 years ago

I used to plant sunflowers and something would eat them up every time they got a couple of inches high. One year, I planted them in pots on my deck and didn't put them in my garden until they were about a foot high. A couple days later, something ate them up again. Never figured out what was eating them, but it was the usual suspects -- deer or rabbits. I don't try to grow sunflowers any more.

• dirtrx
    17 years ago