Return to the Carolina Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Salvia mexicana

Posted by shari1332 z7NC (My Page) on
Thu, May 15, 08 at 8:30

I haven't seen any signs of life from S. mexicana 'Tula' or 'Elise'. This was their first winter in my garden and I have no previous experience with S. mexicana. Should they be growing yet?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Salvia mexicana

I don't have either of those, but i'm wondering about my salvia leucothoe. When does it normally poke up? And how about a portadora EE? I know they're typically both late, but at what point is it normal, and when do you give up?

o

I'd dig gently around the crown to see if there's any growth buds.

o

Shari, 'Elise' isn't hardy in my garden, so I suspect it will probably only overwinter to zone 8. Tula should be up by now, although it's been a pretty cool spring so far so there's still a chance. I do best with borderline salvias (even greggiis) when I plant them in the sprrng or early summer, so if you got them from me last fall and they don't come back, try again. It's a little problematic trading, because they're not growing enough for me to take cuttings until after the spring swap. If I get the space this year I'll try holding some over the winter for next spring.

o

Karen, I ordered those from Richard Dufresne last spring in the tiny pot size. They grew enough to bloom but didn't thrive in the drought. I lost quite a few of the many that I ordered but I still think it was worth the price I paid just for the survivors. The spot that 'Tula' was planted in has been the kiss of death for more than one plant and I don't know why. It's a prime spot visually for a tall plant.

o

I've got one of those graveyard spots in my shade garden. It's very annoying.

o