Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bermudasarah

Searching for Evergreen Ground Cover

bermudasarah
14 years ago

Good Day,

I am new to the Charlotte area and am hoping to find a good, invasive, evergreen ground cover for a large, north facing, shady bank.

It will be directly in front of the house so I wanted something that would completely cover the area, without leaving bald patches and also prevent erosion.

Thank You,

Sarah

Comments (9)

• trianglejohn
    14 years ago

You were on track until you said - also prevent erosion. If the slope is steep and the soil is anything but hard packed clay (which won't grow anything) the only way to prevent erosion is with deep rooted plants. Most ground covers have shallow roots. Even turf grasses have roots that might extend down 20 inches but only during the growing season, the roots retract to about 6 inches during the dormant season. A lot of common garden plants (including shrubs and small trees) survive with only a matt of fine roots up near the surface. We like to look at carpets of plants covering the ground and THINK that they are protecting it from excess water but that isn't how it works. With enough water, erosion can undercut any matt of ground cover.

I would cover the ground with gravel and let sedums take over. Though they look like full sun plants but in truth plenty of them enjoy the shade.

• mariposa_gardens
    14 years ago

have you ever considered creeping phlox?? It blooms with many different colors, some of them rather new, like appleblossom and a fairly true purple. Mine stay green year round, and in the spring are covered in bloom, even in dappled sunlight. And yes, I know all about hard pan
    clay....I just chisel out a spot for the new creeping phlox, fill it with compost, and plant it.....with continued mulching of the hard pan clay, it is slowly making an inch or so of top soil out there after 5 years of working with it.
    Good luck.....

• dottie_in_charlotte
    14 years ago