Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mygardnparadise

Coreopsis in my flower bed help

mygardnparadise
14 years ago

I need some advice on placement of my Coreposis ( Limerock Passion).

My bed is approximately 4ft wide.

I have periennial Dianthus as my border plants....and Monarda as the middle plants. I don't have any tall plants for the back yet.

These Coreopsis according to the plant tag grow to about 16" tall. I was going to plant them in the front with the Dianthus....but, now I'm wondering if I shouldn't stagger them inbetween the Dianthus and Mondara according to height.

Does that make any sense at all? lol

I'm new to trying to make things look....orderly. I have always been a hap-hazard kinda gardening chick......but, now that I own this house...I kinda want it to look nice.

Not to mention...all my neighbors have established gardens....so I kinda want to start off on the right foot.

They have all week been peering over here trying to see what i'm doing....and asking what kind of garden i'm planting ( butterfly/hummingbird). They all have roses and things like that.....I had to dig up two beds of 30+ year old azalea bushes to get to an actual bed....I guess they are used to things not being so....."flowery" lol

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me!

Comments (18)

• dottie_in_charlotte
    14 years ago

I think you're going to want your coreopsis mid way back. The thing with the dianthus is they'll either be cut back down after blooming or if the low spreading type, they'll be deadheaded.
    Either way, your coreopsis are way too tall to be in the front.

• trianglejohn
    14 years ago