Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jjs1971

Hibiscus, hydrangea, azalea

jjs1971
13 years ago

Hi...I'm very very new to gardening since we just purchased our first home. I am a work in progress. A couple of weeks ago I planted two hydrangeas, one hibiscus, and one encore azalea. The hydrangeas seem to be doing ok. One is blooming and the other isn't wilting or showing signs of dying so that is good. The azalea only had a few blooms when I purchased it. There are no blooms now but again, the leaves still feel fine and it doesn't show signs of dying. The hibiscus seemed to do well at first but now seems to be struggling. It is still blooming but the leaves seem wilted so I'm worried it won't make it. I'm trying to water daily by hand since we are on an odd/even schedule here. Does anyone have any suggestions to promote growth of my hydrangeas and azalea and hopefully save my hibiscus. Thank you all in advance! I think I'm going to be learning alot here.

Comments (3)

• User
    13 years ago

JJS,
    You aren't saying about where you are located, I am assuming you are zone 8 since you have an 8 after your sign on name, and you aren't stating the sun exposures for your new plants.
    Where I live it is a true zone 8, I am down by Augusta, GA in South Carolina. We have sand, then a little loam, then red clay. Lucky me.
    Is the hibiscus you are talking about a tropical hibiscus?
    If it is, (dark shiny leaves), it will die in the fall. They are tropical.
    Hibiscus is sun, lots of water and fertilizer, loves Miracle grow and hates wet feet, good drainage.
    Hydrangea is half day morning sun, good drainage.
    Azalea is full sun.
    Mulch, Mulch, Mulch and then mulch again.
    You can grow anything you want almost, as long as you mulch.
    Good Luck with your new home.
    I'm sure your pretty plants will make it feel even more homey and they will do fine for you.
    Any questions you have, come here and ask.

• jjs1971
    Original Author
    13 years ago