Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lecorbeau

Want to help me plant a shady planter?

K
14 years ago

Hello, fellow Carolinians. I am trying to fill a planter to put on my north-facing stoop. The planter is 25 inches long, 10 inches wide and 9 inches high. The plants I have available are a few elephant ears (medium green veins with dark purple between), astilbe (one with green leaves, one with redder leaves), heuchera palace purple, a small golden green hosta, ivy, variegated vinca major (I pull those last two when they creep over from the neighbors).

I am not good at imagining the final product, so if any of you could advise me as to whether any of these in combination would look stunning :), I'd really appreciate it. I'm also not sure of how many plants to try to fit in, and if all those plants would be ok with almost no sun. If some of my plants would be good, and there is just one other that they scream for, I could buy it.

Thanks very much for your help.

k.

Comments (8)

• claudia_sandgrower
    14 years ago

Hi Kate! I can envision lots of lovely combinations with the plants you have available. When I'm putting a container together, I think about "spill-over plants" and the mature shape of the taller plants. I've never grown astilbe, so I'm not sure how well it would do in a container of the size you're describing, but from what I know of the shape of the plant it would be a beautiful focal point for the planter. Your heuchera would make a nice accent for the taller astilbe, with the varigated vinca planted all around for the spill-over effect. (I grow this plant in my garden and use it frequently for containers... periodic snipping back keeps it from getting too stringy.)

Just one combo idea... you've got lots of options with what you have available! ;-)

• dottie_in_charlotte
    14 years ago

Kate, lose the ivy and the vinca major. The astilbe will be done flowering in another week or two, after that, the plant is of no special interest.